I’ve Only Seen In Books

Take me away
Show me the world
So I can breathe the new air
Thousands of miles away from here

Take me away
From nothing in particular
So I can experience the culture
Unlike the mundane

Take me away
Away from the every day
So I can slow down and see it all
As the tourists we’ll be

Take me away
To a new land I’ve never been
So I can explore the wildlife both urban and rural
I’ve only seen in books

Take me away
Show me the sunset
So that I can collect another breathtaking experience
Thousands of miles away from here

Take me away
From this repetitive plot line
So I can write the rest of my life’s story with something new
Unlike the mundane

Take me away
Away from the familiar
So I can soak it all up
As the tourists we’ll be

Take me away
To a life unlike my own
So I can examine the world
I’ve only seen in books
A world I’ve only seen in books…


©Megan Matos, December 2016
Header image downloaded from Pexels.com

One Comment Add yours

  1. poetrylover says:

    Simply beautiful ❤ . I'd love if you could check out my poetry blog.
    https://poetry2473.wordpress.com
    We could follow each other if you like my writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

