NaNoWriMo Reflection

It was with high hopes and last minute planning that started me on the journey to 50,000 words. The first couple days went off without a hitch. My muse was at the wheel and taking me from zero to 5,000 words in no time at all I thought.

It felt so good to be back on a creative streak like I was in college while taking classes to complete my creative writing minor. I really did not see the abrupt blowout and complete fiery crash happening right before my eyes.

I lost all motivation for what I started.
I thought about all the plot holes that could potentially sneak their way into my story instead of writing.
It seemed like I was just looking for ways that it all wasn’t going to work.
I didn’t give myself the time to write like before.
Just like that, days began to slip by and my deadline wasn’t showing any mercy.


Tomorrow is the last day for NaNoWriMo. While I will be short by thousands of words I will not look at this as a complete failure. It has taught me a lot about my writing process and what fuels my creativity, which is something I’ve never fully realized before in my previous experiences of writing short stories or creative pieces. It taught me to love the process of writing even when the words are not jiving like they were in the beginning. And overall it showed me that NaNoWriMo is a great accomplishment.

I applaud those of you who participated this year and in years past. This month is important to the writing community and I am thankful to have experienced it this year and have made plans to compete next year (hopefully with a more solid outline and concept of what I want to write.)

As for the small sections of what could be a short story or novel, it’s definitely a work in progress and I hope to polish it after the holidays.


©Megan Matos, Noember 2016
Header image downloaded from Pexels.com

Leave a Reply

