NaNoWriMo – Day 1

Day 1 is fully under my belt and right now I feel life around me exuberating ideas and creativity that I’ve never felt before. I don’t ever want this feeling to go away, which is what brought me to my blog so I can channel all this literary energy.

I’d say I have the setting, major characters, and a driving plot line that all is currently the consistency of kinetic sand. Some aspects are smoothe, polished if you will, while others are still very rigid and in many ways crumbled.

To help me remember many of the aspects that I just determined today I wrote a brief cheat sheet of details that I can turn to during my writing. This is probably what many people were referring to when they mentioned preparing for NaNoWriMo.

I wrote roughly 2,200 words today and have a feeling I will revisit later tonight to add some more content.

I really want to connect with my characters as if they embody people I know so that readers will also feel deeply for them when reading my novel (hopefully eventually). Do you have any tips on how to achieve this? What exercises or writing prompts have helped you create compelling characters?


©Megan Matos, November 2016
Header image downloaded from Pexels.com

Leave a Reply

