Spare Change

Write 300 words of dialogue only and show the difference between the two speakers only through the language they use (i.e don’t use ‘he said’, ‘she said’, etc.).

“Spare some change please.”
“If I give you my change what are you going to do with it?”
“I don’t know man, it really all depends on how much I make today – alright?”
“How much you make? Make doing what?”
“You know. What I’m doing right now – asking people for money I guess. Can you move – spare some change please.”
“Wow, okay, well. What do you normally buy when you get, let’s say – $10?”
“Listen old man, I don’t need you to judge me like this. Are you gonna give me your spare change or not? If not, fuck off there’s plenty of other people walking this street tonight – ugh, you’re still in my way!”
“You have quite the attitude to talk to me like that; someone who was contemplating on taking you into this McDonald’s right here and buying you a burger and fries. I ask because I don’t want to just give you money with good faith that I did something to help someone out today if this cash is going to fill your veins with poison. You understand now why I’m asking?”
“Okay! I got it. I’d absolutely take you up on a burger and fries but I can’t go into that McDonald’s over there anyway so just keep walking.”
“Why’s that?”
“It’s some bullshit. They kick me out every time I try and go in there because I use their toilet and I’m not a paying customer or whatever.”
“Alright listen, tonight’s a different story. You come in with me and place your order. If they try and throw you out I’ll tell them you’re dining with me tonight. Then use their restroom to clean up because this time you’ll be a paying customer.”
“How bout this. You go buy me a burger and fries and I’ll be right here. Spare some change people, please.”


©Megan Matos, October 2016
Header image downloaded from Pexels.com

Leave a Reply

