My anxious life

My mornings start with an extra snooze
Shuffle feet
Brush teeth
Furnish an outfit
Work commute

Clammy palms
Cloudy head
Chewed fingernails
Shredded cuticles – tender and bloody

Breathe.

Cue the cadence of thoughts

What if…
Then what…
What now…
What’ll I do if…

Begin irregular heart beats

If this happens…what if…if this happens…what if…if this happens…what if…
Then that’ll happen…then what… then that’ll happen…then what…then that’ll happen…
This isn’t working…what now…this isn’t working…what now…this isn’t working…
What am I doing…what’ll I do if…what am I doing…what’ll I do if…what am I doing…

Repeat. Check the clock.
Repeat. Check the clock.
Repeat. Check the clock.

Clock out
Shuffle feet
Commute home

Wash
Rinse
Repeat.


©Megan Matos, October 2016
Header image downloaded from Pexels.com

Leave a Reply

